MISSISSIPPI ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION
- 1 License Types
- 2 Licensing Requirements
- 3 How to Apply
- 4 Maintaining Your License
- 5 Fees
- 6 Contact
- 7 Information
Independent Adjusters are licensed in Mississippi.
Public AdjusterPublic Adjusters are licensed in Mississippi
Trainee Independent AdjusterMust work under the direction and supervision of the licensed independent adjuster.
Trainee Public Adjuster
Must work under the direction and supervision of the licensed public adjuster.
Emergency AdjusterIn the event of a catastrophe, individuals may apply for a 180-day emergency adjuster license by filling out an “emergency independent adjuster application” and paying a $50 fee. Emergency adjuster applicants must be certified by a license Mississippi independent adjuster.
"Adjuster" shall not include:
(i) An attorney-at-law who adjusts insurance losses from time to time and incidental to the practice of law, and who does not advertise or represent that he is an adjuster;
(ii) A salaried employee of an insurer who is regularly engaged in the adjustment, investigation or supervision of insurance claims;
(iii) Persons employed only for the purpose of furnishing technical assistance to a licensed adjuster, including, but not limited to, photographers, estimators, private detectives, engineers, handwriting experts and attorneys-at-law;
(iv) A licensed agent or general agent of an authorized insurer who processes undisputed or uncontested losses, or both, for such insurer under policies issued by the licensed agent or general agent;
(v) A person who performs clerical duties with no negotiations with the parties on disputed or contested claims, or both;
(vi) Any person who handles claims arising under life, accident and health insurance policies;
(vii) Any person who is a multiperil crop insurance adjuster; or
(viii) Any person who collects claim information from, or furnishes claim information to, insureds or claimants, and who performs data entry including entering data into an automated claims adjudication system, if the person is an employee of a licensed independent adjuster or its affiliate where no more than twenty-five (25) such persons are under the supervision of one (1) licensed independent adjuster or licensed agent. A licensed agent who is acting as a supervisor and adjusting portable electronics insurance claims in accordance with this subparagraph does not need to be licensed as an adjuster.
- Applicant must be at least eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.
- Applicant must not hold an active resident license in another state.
- Applicant must provide residence, business and mailing addresses. Residence address must not contain a P.O. Box.
- All Public Adjuster licenses expire on May 31 each year, regardless of issue date. This includes both first-time applicants and those reinstating their licenses. Unless the applicant needs a license immediately, the Mississippi Insurance Department suggests waiting until June 1 to apply for a full-year license.
- Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved adjusters course or have sufficient experience or training as an adjuster to make them competent in that role
- Applicant must be eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.
- All Independent Adjuster and Public Adjuster licenses expire on May 31 each year, regardless of issue date. This includes both first-time applicants and those reinstating their licenses. Unless the applicant needs a license immediately, the Mississippi Insurance Department suggests waiting until June 1 to apply for a full-year license.
- Accepts Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.
- The ADHS selected must have an active non-resident adjuster license on the PDB.
Reciprocity and Non ResidentsMississippi grants reciprocal licensing privileges to non-residents who hold a license by examination from their home state, or, if their home state does not require an exam, from any other state that does require an exam for licensure. If you do not meet either of these requirements, then you must pass the Mississippi exam to gain your license.
Reciprocity with Texas license
Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes.
Mississippi residents can reciprocally obtain their Mississippi license through a Texas non-resident license.
Pre Licensing EducationResidents must complete a 12-hour adjuster pre-licensing course and pass the state exam. For non-residents, the Mississippi license is available to anyone with a license in Texas, Florida, or any other state that requires testing for adjusters.
Requires Adjuster Bond.
Type of Adjuster: Public Adjusters
Bond Expiration information: Yearly
How to Apply
Licenses for independent adjusters are issued on an annual basis, expiring on May 31. The adjusters can apply online via NIPR or Sircon (http://www.sircon.com/). Adjusters who have subscribed CLM can apply through CLM Tracker.
Maintaining Your License
- Licenses will expire on a biennial basis by birth month.
- Licenses may be renewed online 90 days prior to the expiration date.
- The licenses can be renewed online via NIPR/Sircon.
- CLM Tracker subscribed users can renew the licenses via CLM.
- Any license issued prior to May 31 will expire on May 31, no matter when the license has been issued.
- Applications printed from the mid website will not be accepted in place of the renewal invoice
- Late electronic renewals are not allowed.
- 12 hours of continuing education is required each license year prior to the expiration date for resident and DHS adjusters.
- Individual Licenses issued or reinstated on July 1, 2016 or later will be given an expiration date that is the last day of the month of birth of the licensee in the second year of the license renewal, with a minimum term of 13 months.
Continuing EducationResidents are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education per year. If you hold the Mississippi license reciprocally, you must remain CE compliant in your resident license’s state.
For Licenses in effect for 13-18 months: 12 hours of continuing education is required each year prior to the expiration date
For Licenses in effect for 19-24 months: 24 hours of continuing education including three hours of ethics.
Adjusters who have subscribed CLM can track CE credits through CLM Tracker.
License Termination or Lapse
Licenses with failure to renew status reason can reinstate through Resident License Renewal (RLR) Application with a penalty fee if within three to three hundred and sixty-five days after expiration. After three hundred and sixty-five (365) applicants must reapply through NIPR's Resident License (RL) Application.
|Application & Licensing Fee||$100|
|License Renewal Fee||$50 (a $25 late fee is assessed if the application is not received by the expiration date).|
|Exam Fee (if required)||$85 (Make checks payable to "Testing Services, Inc. Registration must be made at least 3 business days prior to exam date requested to avoid $15 late fee. Registration Fee for walk-ins is $100.)|
ContactPO Box 79, Jackson, MS 39205
Phone: (601) 359-3582, Fax: (601) 359-1951,