Main Page Not logged inLogin

For Questions, Changes or Clarifications regarding the Adjuster Licensing information, please send an email to licensing@theclm.org

Last Reviewed / Modified On 18 Sep 2017.

MICHIGAN ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION

License Types

Independent Adjuster

An individual allowed by license to contract with and represent insurance companies to adjust fire and other hazards, crop, and/or workers' compensation losses.

Public Adjuster

An individual allowed by license to contract with and represent the insured who have suffered losses covered by insurance for fire and other hazards. Adjusters for the insured may not adjust worker’s compensation losses.

Staff Adjuster

An adjuster who is a salaried employee of an insurance company does not need to be licensed by the State of Michigan

Adjuster Emergency/Catastrophe

In the event of a catastrophe, emergency adjusters are required to become licensed in Michigan prior to adjusting claims. Each individual must submit an Electronic Licensing (ERL) application. If submitting a second application for additional qualifications within 30 days of the first application, contact NIPR first at 855-674-6477 to delete the prior application ID.
In response to the emergency, the Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation will expedite the application process for emergency adjuster applicants. Emergency adjuster applicants should contact the Insurance Licensing Section at 877-999-6442 to validate the emergency and receive special instructions for licensure.

Exclusions

Persons admitted to the practice of law in Michigan may adjust claims without obtaining a license but cannot represent themselves as an adjuster licensed by the State of Michigan.

Licensing Requirements

Requirements

Resident Adjusters

  • Be 18 years of age.
  • If you hold a resident adjuster license by exam in another state you can apply for the Michigan license without having first to pass the Michigan exam. Michigan lines of authories available are Fire and Other Hazards, Worker's Compensation, and Crop.
  • Successful completion of the examination. If the examination is not passed within six months, the applicant must submit a new license application and fee, and reschedule their examination.
  • If an adjuster works for an adjusting firm, he or she must respond “YES” to the corresponding question on the application and enter the requested information.

Reciprocity and Non Residents

Michigan is reciprocal with every state that requires an exam to become an adjuster. If you have a license in another state, but did not take an exam in that state, you will still need to take the Michigan exam to obtain the Michigan license.

Non-Resident Adjusters

  • Non-Resident adjuster applicants must be licensed in the state in which their principle place of residence or business is maintained for all lines of authority requested in Michigan. In addition, if the resident state did not require the successful completion of an examination at the time of licensure, applicants must either take the Michigan examination or provide proof of successful completion of an equivalent examination from a state where they are currently licensed.
  • If an adjuster works for an adjusting firm, he or she must respond “YES” to the corresponding question on the application and enter the requested information.

Reciprocity with Texas license

Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes.

You must have passed your Texas Exam within 90 days, or you will be required to take the Michigan exam. Michigan does notrequire you to hold a license in your state of residence in order to enjoy the benefits of reciprocity through Texas.

Pre Licensing Education

Residents

Successful completion of the examination. If the examination is not passed within six months, the applicant must submit a new license application and fee and reschedule their examination.
Non-residents

Successful completion of the examination if the applicant is not active in another state that requires an examination. If the examination is not passed within six months, the applicant must submit a new license application and fee and reschedule their examination.

Bond Requirement

Adjuster Bond not required for Licensing.

How to Apply

  • Residents and Non-residents apply through NIPR.com
  • Lines of authority available are:

1.Fire and other hazards 2 Worker’s Compensation 3.Crop Includes multi-peril crop insurance as administered by the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation Review Bulletin 2010-05-INS for requirements to obtain a license without an examination for applicants holding an MPCI or FCIC certificate

  • Application must include the name and Company Code of the insurance company
  • Applications are good for six months from entry into database.

Maintaining Your License

Renewal

Yearly renewal fee of $5, which must be received and processed before March 31.
You can renew the license using State Renewal System
Renewal payments that are not paid by March 31st will result in cancellation of the license. Notification of a canceled license is mailed to the mailing address on file.

Continuing Education

Michigan is reciprocal with all other states. By meeting your home state CE requirements you will automatically comply with Michigan's requirements. You are not required to submit proof of CE compliance to the state.

License Termination or Lapse

Renewals not paid by March 31 will result in cancellation of the license and the license status will be changed to Inactive. Notification of a canceled license will be sent to the mailing address on file.

Inactive licensees who want to reinstate their license should review the steps for this process on the web page Reinstatement of an Adjuster License.Licenses may be inactivated for the following reasons: 1.Request from licensee
2.Failure to complete continuing education (CE) credits.
3.Surplus Lines licensee with inactive prerequisite qualifications.
4.Death.
5.Administrative action.
6.Dissolution of a licensed business enterprise.

Fees

Application & Licensing Fee$15
Exam Fee$40 (for resident adjusters)
Renewal Fee$5

Contact

PO Box 30220, Lansing, MI 48909 Phone: (517) 373-0220, Fax: (517) 241-3953, Email:ofir-licensinge@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov

Information

^ Back to Top