MAINE ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION
- 1 License Types
- 2 Licensing Requirements
- 3 How to Apply
- 4 Maintaining Your License
- 5 Fees
- 6 Contact
Insurance Adjuster"Adjuster" means any individual who, as an independent contractor or as an employee of an independent contractor, or as an employee of another organization, for fee, commission or other compensation, investigates for, settles on behalf of and reports to an insurer, fraternal benefit society, workers' compensation self-insurer or insured relative to claims arising under the workers' compensation laws or other types of insurance contracts.
Insurance Adjusters are licensed in Maine.
Public AdjusterAn adjuster representing an insured is commonly referred to as a “public adjuster.” Public adjusters are required to be licensed in Maine as adjusters, and are required to comply with certain specific standards under the Maine Insurance Code.
Adjusters Trainee"Adjuster trainee" means any individual with less than one year total experience handling loss claims under insurance contracts or the workers' compensation laws who is not licensed in this State as an adjuster and who is employed by and subject to the immediate personal supervision of an adjuster who is licensed in this State and who has been established in the business of adjusting for 3 years or more.
Catastrophe Investigations and AdjustmentsAn adjuster license is not required for an adjuster sent into this State on behalf of an authorized insurer or fraternal benefit society for the investigation or adjustment of a particularly unusual or extraordinary loss or of a series of losses resulting from a catastrophe common to all such losses
Exclusions"Adjuster" does not include:
A. Attorneys admitted to practice in this State; 1997, c. 457, §23 (NEW); 1997, c. 457, §55 (AFF).]
B. Property and casualty insurance adjusters who are employees of insurers; [2009, c. 511, Pt. C, §1 (AMD).]
C. Licensed producers authorized by contract to settle and pay claims within a specified limit established by the insurer or fraternal benefit society not to exceed $5,000; [1997, c. 457, §23 (NEW); 1997, c. 457, §55 (AFF).]
D. Persons excepted from licensure as adjusters pursuant to Title 5, section 1727-A and persons acting as adjusters solely on behalf of the State or counties, cities and towns; [1997, c. 457, §23 (NEW); 1997, c. 457, §55 (AFF).]
E. Persons adjusting only life and health insurance claims; [2011, c. 554, §1 (AMD).]
F. Adjuster trainees; or [2011, c. 554, §1 (AMD).]
G. An individual who satisfies the following with regard to portable electronic device insurance as defined under section 7001, subsection 6, paragraph A:
(1) The individual collects claim information from, or furnishes claim information to, insureds or claimants and conducts data entry including entering data into an automated claims adjudication system; and
(2) The individual is an employee of an adjuster licensed under this chapter or the adjuster's affiliate.
No more than 25 individuals under the supervision of one licensed adjuster or insurance producer described under paragraph C may be exempt pursuant to this paragraph.
For purposes of this paragraph, "automated claims adjudication system" means a preprogrammed computer system designed for the collection, data entry, calculation and final resolution of portable electronic device insurance claims that is used by an adjuster, insurance producer or supervised individual operating pursuant to this paragraph; complies with all claims payment requirements of the Maine Insurance Code; and is certified as compliant with this paragraph by a licensed adjuster that is an officer of a business entity licensed under this chapter.
RequirementsTo become a licensed Maine insurance adjuster, individuals must:
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Applicant can qualify for the multi-peril crop line of authority (LOA) under the adjuster license class by either taking the multi-peril crop exam or showing proof of passing the federal exam. If the federal exam was taken, the applicant must submit a paper application to the state.
- If any license or LOA is in revoked status on PDB, applicant must wait one (1) year after revocation status date to apply for any new line on license.
- Exemptions from the license requirement include:
• Attorneys admitted to practice in Maine;
• Employees of insurers;
• Licensed producers authorized by contract to settle and pay claims within a specified limit established by the insurer or fraternal benefit society not to exceed $5,000;
• Persons adjusting only life and health insurance claims
• Adjuster trainees
Defined as a person who has “less than one year total experience handling loss claims …who is not licensed in this State as an adjuster and who is employed by and subject to the immediate personal supervision of an adjuster who is licensed in this State and who has been established in the business of adjusting for 3 years or more.
Reciprocity and Non ResidentsMaine grants reciprocal licensing privileges to anyone holding a license from another state.
Reciprocity with Texas license
Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes.
Maine does not require you to hold a license in your state of residence in order to enjoy the benefits of reciprocity through Texas.
Pre Licensing EducationMaine residents must pass the Pearson Vue exam before being licensed. Non-residents holding a license in any other state can be reciprocally licensed in Maine.
Bond RequirementAdjuster Bond not required for Licensing.
How to Apply
The Maine Bureau of Insurance is now accepting the National Association of Insurance Commissioner's uniform applications for both resident and non-resident adjuster licensing and adjusters who must designate a home state.
The Resident and Non-Resident adjusters can apply online via NIPR. CLM users can apply through CLM Tracker.The paper application forms are available in state site
Accepts Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.
Maintaining Your License
RenewalThis license is good for two years and is renewable with a fee of $30 for residents and $60 for non-residents. Adjusters who have subscribed CLM can renew through CLM Tracker.
Continuing EducationNo Continuing Education is required.
License Termination or Lapse
- Inactive licenses that are not in "revoked" status are allowed to reinstate any time after the line of authority status date.
- Reinstatement applicants that have status reason code of "revoked" cannot apply for any license class until one (1) year after status date of the line of authority.
|Resident License Fee||$30|
|Resident Application Fee||$15|
|Non-Resident License Fee||$15|
|Non-Resident Application Fee||$60|
|License Renewal Fee||$30 for residents, $60 for non-residents|
Contact34 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0034
Overnight mail: 76 Northern Ave., Gardiner, ME 04333
Phone: (207) 624-8412
Email:cid. Kathryn.email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org