FLORIDA ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION
- 1 License Types
- 2 Licensing Requirements
- 3 How to Apply
- 4 Maintaining Your License
- 5 Contact
- 6 Information
An "independent adjuster" means a person licensed as an all-lines adjuster who is self-appointed or appointed and employed by an independent adjusting firm or other independent adjuster, and who undertakes on behalf of an insurer to ascertain and determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under an insurance contract or undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or damage.
License type: Individual
An "all-lines adjuster" is a person who is self-employed or employed by an insurer, a wholly owned subsidiary of an insurer, or an independent adjusting firm or other independent adjuster, and who undertakes on behalf of an insurer or other insurers under common control or ownership to ascertain and determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under an insurance contract or undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or damage. The term does not apply to life insurance or annuity contracts.
License type: Individual
(2) This definition does not apply to:
(a) A licensed health care provider or employee thereof who prepares or files a health insurance claim form on behalf of a patient.
(b) A person who files a health claim on behalf of another and does so without compensation. License type: Individual
In the event of a catastrophe or emergency, the department may issue a license, for the purposes and under the conditions and for the period of emergency as it shall determine, to persons who are residents or nonresidents of this state, who are at least 18 years of age, who are United States citizens or legal aliens who possess work authorization from the United States Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services, and who are not licensed adjusters under this part but who have been designated and certified to it as qualified to act as adjusters by all-lines resident adjusters, by an authorized insurer, or by a licensed general lines agent to adjust claims, losses, or damages under policies or contracts of insurance issued by such insurers.
Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar, shall not be required to be licensed under the provisions Texas Insurance code to authorize them to adjust or participate in the adjustment of any claim, loss, or damage arising under policies or contracts of insurance.
- Be 18 years of age.
- Be a U.S. citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Services.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- Pass the exam or get exemption
- Complete the approved, 40-hour Florida Certified Adjuster course through AdjusterPro
- Can not hold more than one adjuster license at a time.<>
- An adjuster license can only hold one appointment at a time.
Click Here for more details regarding the application of Resident license.
To apply for a Non -Resident license
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. Click Here for more details.
Florida grants non-resident licensing privileges to anyone holding a license that has a reciprocal agreement with Florida. View Florida's reciprocal states to check your state's status.
FLORIDA Non-Resident Licensingfor Individual & Business Entity : http://www.nipr.com/state_rules/nrl/fl_nrl.htm
Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes.
You must hold a resident license from your state of residence, provided your state has adjuster licensing requirements. Residents of states without licensing requirements who hold a Texas non-resident license enjoy reciprocity with Florida.
Requires Adjuster Bond.
Type of Adjuster: Public Adjusters
Bond Expiration information: Data Not Available
Link to Forms: http://www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents/Licensure/Forms/docs/DFS-H2-72.pdf
For a list of requirements and a step by step process on how to apply to the State of Florida as a Resident Independent/Company Adjuster (6-20 License) Click Here
For a list of requirements and a step by step process on how to appy to the State of Florida as a Non-Resident Independent/Company Adjuster (7-20 License) Click Here
IMPORTANT: The applicant's home state or other state must have a reciprocal agreement with Florida. ("Step 2 - License Required" in link above.)
If the applicant does not meet the requirement listed above, he or she must take and pass the Florida Independent Adjuster Examination.
Florida agent and adjuster licenses are perpetual, which means there is no license renewal. However, perpetual license statuses only apply to licenses that either require and hold a current appointment or do not require an appointment. Failure to complete continuing education requirements may result in cancellation of an appointment that could lead to termination of the license. Licenses will expire if more than 48 months elapse without an appointment. Failure to complete continuing education may result in cancellation of appointment(s).
CLM Tracker subscribed users can renew the licenses via CLM.
Public Adjusters (03-20) can only satisfy elective credits by taking CE courses specifically approved for Public Adjusters.
For All Lines Adjusters , 5 hours of Law and Ethics update (5-620),19 hours of Elective credits
Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license per Florida Statutes 626.860. Note: This does not exempt attorneys from the state examination if an adjuster license is applied for.
CLM Tracker subscribed users can track CE credits via CLM.
|Initial Licensing & Application Fee||$50|
|License ID Fee||$5|
|State Exam Fee (if required)||$42|
Phone: (850) 413-3137, Fax: (850)413-3291,
Email available through FLDFS website http://www.myfloridacfo.com/.