WASHINGTON ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION
- 1 License Types
- 2 Licensing Requirements
- 3 How to Apply
- 4 Maintaining Your License
- 5 Fees
- 6 Contact
- 7 Information
License Type: Individual and Business Entity
License Type: Individual and Business Entity
License Type: Individual
Be 18 years of age or more.
Be trustworthy and competent.
If a resident of Washington, meet one of the following experience or education criteria:12 consecutive months of experience as a full-time salaried employee of an insurer or a general agent, adjusting, investigating, or reporting claims arising under insurance contracts. You will have to submit a statement from your employer verifying this employment. Applicants who meet this requirement are exempt from examination.
Successful completion of the Associate in Claims (AIC) program.
Adjuster Trainee Program. Your employer must notify the Washington Insurance Department that you are beginning the Trainee program, and the program must meet certain criteria.
All residents (except those with one year of experience) must take the Washington exam administered by Pearson VUE.
Submit fingerprints (residents only).
The following applicants may be licensed reciprocally and do not need the Washington exam:
Non-residents who hold an adjuster license by examination in their home state;
Non-residents whose home state does not license adjusters, but who passed an examination for an adjuster license in another state.
Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes.
You must hold a resident license somewhere in order to enjoy reciprocity through your Texas license in Washington.
Requires Adjuster Bond.
Type of Adjuster: Public Adjusters
Bond Expiration information: Filing date anniversary every 2 years
- Meet the experience or education requirement.
- Schedule and pass your exam.
- Apply online through the OIC Licensing ServicesHave your proof of experience and exam score report ready. You'll need to attach them electronically or mail them in.
- Submit fingerprints. You may request a blank fingerprint card here. (Electronically taken prints, as as long as they are printed on a hard-copy fingerprint card, will be accepted.)
- E-fingerprinting is now available and is the preferred way to submit fingerprints
- Get your fingerprints taken at your local law enforcement agency of if you are a resident through Pearson VUE exam sites. For more information, or to schedule a reservation, call Morpho Trust (previously L-1 Services) at 888-771-5097.
- Please send your card via regular mail to: Attn: Licensing, Office of the Insurance Commissioner, P.O. Box 40257, Olympia, WA 98504-0257.
- Coming late summer or early fall of 2012, e-fingerprinting services will be available.
- Apply online, either through the OIC Licensing Services or through NIPR:
- Fingerprinting is no longer required for non-resident applicants.
To renew your license, you'll need to complete your renewal application and pay renewal fees online. Renewal applications are available no sooner than 60 days prior to your license-expiry date and no later than 60 calendar days following your license-expiry date.A complimentary email reminder is sent to the registered email address on record 60 days prior to your license-expiry date. No additional renewal reminders will be sent.If a license is not renewed within the 60 days following the expiry date, a complimentary email notice is sent to the registered email address on record to notify the licensee that the license can no longer be renewed. It is the responsibility of the licensee to know their license-expiry date. Reminders from our office are merely a courtesy.
Online renewals through NIPR are available only for non-resident licensees starting 60 days prior to their expiry date up until 10 days before their expiry date. Late renewals are not possible via the NIPR online system, and can only be processed through state-specific site.
|Fingerprint Processing Fee (background check for residents only)||For e-fingerprinting: $32.50. (This fee will be paid to MorphoTrust at the time they collect your e-fingerprints). For a hard-copy card: $42.50. (If you submit a hard-copy card, you'll also need to include this fee, payable to Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner).|
Attn: Licensing, Office of Insurance Commissioner, P. O. Box 40257, Olympia, WA 98504-0257
For overnight mail: 5000 Capitol Blvd. SE, Tumwater, WA 98501
Phone: (360) 725-7144, Fax: (360) 586-2019, Email:firstname.lastname@example.org