Main Page Not logged inLogin

For Questions, Changes or Clarifications regarding the Adjuster Licensing information, please send an email to licensing@theclm.org

Last Reviewed / Modified On 15 Sep 2017.

UTAH ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION

License Types

Independent Adjuster

Independent Adjusters are licensed in Utah.
  1. Independent adjuster license classifications include:
    (a) accident and health insurance, including related service insurance under Chapter 7, Nonprofit Health Service Insurance Corporations, or Chapter 8, Health Maintenance Organizations and Limited Health Plans;
    (b) property and casualty insurance, including a surety or other bond;
    (c) crop insurance; and
    (d) workers' compensation insurance.

Public Adjuster

Public Adjusters are licensed in Utah.
Public adjuster license classifications include:

(a) accident and health insurance, including related service insurance under Chapter 7 or 8;
(b) property and casualty insurance, including a surety or other bond;
(c) crop insurance; and
(d) workers' compensation insurance.

Company Adjuster

Company Adjusters are not licensed in Utah.

Emergency License

In the event of a catastrophe or emergency which arises out of a disaster, act of God, riot, civil commotion, conflagration, or other similar occurrence, the commissioner shall, upon application, issue emergency licenses to persons who are not licensed adjusters. An emergency license shall be applied for within a week of beginning claims adjustment. It may remain in force for not more than 90 days, unless extended by the commissioner before it expires for an additional period of not more than 90 additional days.

Temporary License

The commissioner may issue temporary licenses for 180 days without requiring an examination.

Exclusions

The following are exempt from the adjuster license requirement when acting in the indicated capacity

(a) an individual engaged in insurance adjusting as a regular salaried employee of, and not an independent contractor for, an insurer;
(b) an arbitrator or an umpire selected by the claimant and insurer to decide, alone or with others, whether a claim should be paid and how much should be paid;
(c) an attorney at law acting in an attorney-client relationship;
(d) an insurance producer, but only as to:
(i) a class of insurance for which the insurance producer is licensed under Section 31A-23a-106; and
(ii) a claim adjusted on the request of an insurer for which the insurance producer is a producer;
(e) a regular salaried employee of, and not an independent contractor for, a policyholder or claimant under an insurance policy;
(f) an employee of a licensed insurance adjuster who provides only administrative or clerical assistance;
(g) an individual who does not do insurance adjusting under Section 31A-26-102, but who is specially employed to obtain facts about a loss for or furnish technical assistance to a licensed adjuster or a company adjuster, including:
(i) a photographer;
(ii) an estimator;
(iii) an appraiser;
(iv) a marine surveyor;
(v) a private detective;
(vi) an engineer; and
(vii) a handwriting expert;
(h) a holder of a group insurance policy, with respect to administrative activities in connection with that insurance policy, who receives no compensation for the policyholder's services beyond the actual expenses estimated on a reasonable basis;
(i) an individual engaged in insurance adjusting as a regular salaried employee of, and not an independent contractor for, an administrator licensed under Chapter 25, Third Party Administrators;
(j) a person who gives advice or assistance without compensation or expectation of compensation, direct or indirect.

Licensing Requirements

Requirements

To become a licensed Utah insurance adjuster, individuals must:
Be 18 years of age or more.
Have a Social Security Number.
Be competent and trustworthy.
Not have any felony convictions or misdemeanors involving anything fiduciary, breach of trust, forgery, or theft.
Submit the proper applications and fees.
Residents of Utah and Non-residents from states not requiring adjuster licenses (who do not have an adjuster license in any other state) must take an exam, administered by Prometric.
Fingerprinting is required for all Residents.

Reciprocity and Non Residents

Utah grants non-resident licenses to adjusters holding an adjuster's license in their home state on a reciprocal basis. If your home state does not issue Adjuster licenses, the Utah Insurance Department will issue you a license if you either pass the Utah exam or already hold a non-resident license in another state.

Reciprocity with Texas license

Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes. Utah does not require you to hold a license in your state of residence in order to enjoy the benefits of reciprocity through Texas.

Pre Licensing Education

The state of Utah waives its examination requirement for non-resident adjusters holding a resident license in their home state. If an applicant’s home state does not license adjusters, a non-resident license from any other state will be accepted. All others, including residents of Utah, must take the state test, administered by Prometric

Bond Requirement

Adjuster Bond not required for Licensing.

How to Apply

Residents must pass exam and apply for license through Sircon or NIPR. Paper applications are no longer accepted.
Residents must also get fingerprinted through Prometric, using "live scan" technology, which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), for a criminal history background check.
Non-resident applicants who hold a license in their resident state must also apply through Sircon or NIPR.
Non-residents whose home state does not license adjusters must either pass exam or already hold a non-resident adjusters license in another state.
Non-resident applicants who reside in states that do not license adjusters cannot apply online. These applicants must submit the NAIC Uniform Application via email or fax. We do not accept mailed applications or checks. You can email the application to Heidi at hpetermann@utah.gov or fax to 801-538-3830.

Maintaining Your License

Renewal

Adjuster licenses expire every two years on the last day of the licensee's birth month. A renewal notice is emailed to every licensee about two months prior to the expiration date as a reminder that the license expiration date is approaching. The Utah Insurance Department has mandated electronic renewal applications. Paper renewals are no longer accepted. If you fail to renew your license by the expiration date, you will have one year to reinstate it. The fee for reinstatement is $125.

Continuing Education

Utah resident adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education credits. 12 hours must be in classroom or classroom equivalent. 3 hours must be in Ethics training. All 24 hours must be from courses approved by Utah Insurance Department.
A non-resident adjuster who is CE compliant in his or her home state is considered to have satisfied the CE requirement for Utah.

License Termination or Lapse

  • Individual may not renew or reinstate if they have a status reason of "temporary license expired", or the time frame between issue date and expiration date is less than ninety-three (93) days. Contact the state for assistance.
  • License reinstatement applicant will keep the same license number. New numbers will not be issued for inactive licenses. Reinstatements are done through NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster Renewal (NRAR) Application.
  • Applicant with a non-resident Utah license in an active or inactive status may not late renew electronically if status reason is canceled, deceased, denied, revoked, failure to maintain or surrendered in lieu of admin.
  • Applicant with an inactive non-resident Utah license that has been inactive for less than three hundred sixty-five (365) days must submit through NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster Renewal (NRAR) Application.

Fees

Licensing & Application Fee$75
Exam Fee$59
Fingerprint Fees$32
License Renewal Fee$75
Reinstatement Fee $125

Contact

Suite 3110 State Office Building, 450 North State Sreet, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901
Phone: (801) 538-3855, Fax: (801) 538-3830,Email: licensing.uid@utah.gov
https://insurance.utah.gov

Information

^ Back to Top