- Adjuster Licensing Information
OHIO ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION
- 1 License Types
- 2 Staff Adjuster
- 3 Licensing Requirements
- 4 How to Apply
- 5 Maintaining Your License
- 6 Fees
- 7 Contact
- 8 Other Information
Ohio Department of Insurance does NOT regulate or license staff adjusters
There are no specific provisions for Emergency licensing in Ohio.
An attorney at law admitted to practice in this state who adjusts insurance losses in the course of the practice of the attorney's profession and who does not hold the attorney out by sign, advertisement, or otherwise as offering such services to the general public is excluded from obtaining a license.
Public insurance adjuster and agent applicants are required to provide:
- Proof of bond in the amount of at least $1,000, payable to the State of Ohio.
- Completion of the Electronic Individual PIA Supplemental form (INS 3216) found on the Department’s website containing a notary section, Public Insurance Adjuster Agent Sponsorship section and the Ohio Specific Bond form.
(Public insurance adjuster agents must be sponsored by a licensed individual or business entity public insurance adjuster. The representative may only be sponsored with one adjuster at a time. Applicants must complete and submit the PIAA Sponsorship form (INS 3216) found on the Department’s website.)
- Required supporting details or documents, if necessary.
A Non resident who is licensed as a public insurance adjuster in another state that required the applicant to submit to an examination as a condition of licensure is exempted from the examination requirements of Ohio
Ohio does not have any Pre Licensing Education requirements for Public Insurance adjusters.
A Non resident who is licensed as a public insurance adjuster in another state that requires the applicant to submit to an examination as a condition of licensure is exempted from the examination requirements of Ohio.
Requires Adjuster Bond.
Type of Adjuster: Public Adjusters
Bond Expiration information: December 31 Every Year
Residents and Non-Residents apply online via NIPR
License shall expire on the thirty-first day of December of the calendar year in which it was issued.
There is no continuing education requirement in Ohio.
|Other Fees||Background check and Fingerprinting fee - $71|
Ohio Department of Insurance License Division 50 West Town Street, Third Floor, Suite 300 Columbus, OH 43215 Phone: 614.644.2665 Web site: www.insurance.ohio.gov