Main Page Not logged inLogin

For Questions, Changes or Clarifications regarding the Adjuster Licensing information, please send an email to licensing@theclm.org

Last Reviewed / Modified On 18 Sep 2017.

CONNECTICUT ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION

License Types

Public Adjuster

Only Public Adjusters licensed by the Connecticut Insurance Department will be permitted to operate within the state.

"public adjuster" means any person, partnership, association, limited liability company or corporation who or which:

  1. On behalf of an insured and for monetary or other compensation or anything of value, (A) prepares, documents and submits a first-party property claim to an insurance company for loss or damage by a covered peril under a personal or commercial risk insurance policy, as defined in section 38a-663, issued by such company, or (B) negotiates, adjusts or effects the settlement of such claim;
  2. Advertises or solicits business as a public adjuster; or
  3. Holds himself or itself out to the public as engaging in the activities set forth in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of subdivision (1) of this section as a business. Lawyers settling claims of clients shall not be deemed to be public adjusters

Casualty Claim Adjuster

Casualty Adjuster means any person who or which acts as an adjuster of insurance claims, other than life, accident & health, and fire and extended in the general practice of law are exempted. (REF: CGS ยง38a-792)

Important Dates

  • All current licenses expire June 30, 2013.
  • All renewal forms will be mailed the week of April 1, 2013.
  • All renewal forms MUST be received along with the check and proper documentation by June 30, 2013.
  • The effective date of the next 2 year license period is July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2015.

Types: Individual, Business Entity

Catastrophe Adjuster Licensing Program

Recognizing the need for INSURANCE COMPANIES to mobilize substantial out-of-state assistance in order to meet the needs of Connecticut residents, the Commissioner may invoke the following Catastrophe Licensing Program, in the event of an emergency situation:

Insurers must send an email to: cid.licensing@ct.gov for permission to handle catastrophe claims in Connecticut, specifying exact nature of catastrophe (snow storm, flood, tornado, etc.), and the part of the state (county) affected. The e-mail MUST include the company's NAIC number. Applications must be made by insurers only. Claims company requests WILL NOT be honored.

B. Include list of all personnel who will be working in the state: their home state, names(s), address(es) of adjusting firm(s) if being utilized, AND copies of the licenses of personnel currently licensed in their home state or any state where they hold an active Casualty Adjuster license. Please do not include currently licensed resident or non-resident Connecticut adjusters. They do not need additional approval to adjust catastrophe claims. Any additions or deletions must be provided to the Connecticut Insurance Department on a timely basis.
If home state does not require licensing and the adjuster does not hold an active adjuster license in any other state, the insurance company must verify in writing that the individual has a minimum of two (2) years experience as an adjuster/appraiser. Circumstances outside the above two criteria will require evaluation by the Department.
The Department will send a letter to the company authorizing a list of individuals for a period of 90 days. A copy of the letter should be given to each adjuster. Authorization is renewable for additional periods dependent upon performance, complaints, etc. The Commissioner may revoke authority at any time. Company must provide each individual with a photo identification, which should be displayed at all times.

Exclusions

Not available

Licensing Requirements

Requirements

General

To become a licensed Connecticut insurance adjuster, individuals must:

Be 18 years of age or more.

Be of good moral character and financially responsible.

Prerequisites:
No prelicensure course required before taking the CT exam. CT exam or equivalent license in any other state (with the exception of NY). If you hold a NY Casualty Adjuster license only, and wish to obtain a license in CT, you are required to take the CT exam. Required Documentation: Completed application, fee, the Department will verify either a passed Connecticut examination score report or evidence of equivalent license in any other state (except New York), as well as any documentation required based on a "yes" answer to a question.

Reciprocity and Non Residents

Connecticut grants reciprocal licensing privileges to anyone holding an adjuster license - be it a resident or a non-resident license - in any state except New York. Those who hold only a New York license will need to complete the CT exam in order to obtain a license in CT.
Connecticut grants reciprocal licenses to adjusters who are licensed in their home state, except AZ and NY. Connecticut will also accept a DHS license for adjusters whose home state does not license

Reciprocity with Texas license

Reciprocal with Texas License? Yes.

Connecticut does not require you to hold a license in your state of residence in order to enjoy the benefits of reciprocity through Texas.

Pre Licensing Education

If you have an Indiana adjuster license you can apply for the Connecticut license without having to pass the Connecticut exam.

Bond Requirement

Adjuster Bond not required for Licensing.

Public Adjuster
Individuals

CT prelicense education (40 hours Property) and CT exam or equivalent license in any other state (with the exception of NY). If you hold a NY Public Adjuster license only, and wish to obtain a license in CT, you are required to meet CT's prelicense education and exam requirements.
Business Entity
At least one owner, partner, officer or director must hold an equivalent license in CT.

Casualty Claim Adjuster
Individual

No prelicensure course required before taking the CT exam. CT exam or equivalent license in any other state (with the exception of NY). If you hold a NY Casualty Adjuster license only, and wish to obtain a license in CT, you are required to take the CT exam.
Business Entity
At least one owner, partner, officer or director must hold an equivalent license in CT.

How to Apply

Apply online at http://cidonline.ct.gov/lit/application/IndCasAdjLic/screen1.jsp

Submit an original CT exam report from Prometric showing a passing grade OR evidence of equivalent license in another state;

New York licensees: If you hold a license in New York only and wish to become licensed in Connecticut, you must complete the Connecticut exam.

Licensing fee of $130;

If a resident of Connecticut, you must also submit the Certification/Clearance Letter Request Form.

Maintaining Your License

Renewal

This is a two-year license that expires June 30 of odd-numbered years. A renewal fee of $80 applies. Online renewal is not available to adjusters. To renew your license, fill out and submit the paper renewal form that will be mailed to you prior to the expiration of your license.
Most licenses can be renewed on-line at NIPR anytime after April 1 in renewal years

Continuing Education

Adjusters are not required to complete any Continuing Education.

License Termination or Lapse

You will be required to reinstate. To reinstate the license, you must complete the application and pay the $130 fee; you can reinstate the license by going to the Online Licensing Application System

Note: The Department will NOT accept renewal forms and $80 fee after the June 30th deadline.

Fees

Application & License Fee$130 (Casualty Claim Adjuster) & $300 (Public Adjuster)
Renewal Fee$80
Exam Fee$30
License Reinstatement Fee$130

Contact

Connecticut Insurance Department, Licensing Division, PO Box 816, Hartford, Connecticut 06142
(Overnight mail: 153 Market Street 7th Floor, Hartford, CT 06103)
Phone: (860) 297-3849, Fax: (860) 566-3978
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov or brigina.mitchell@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/cid/cwp/view.asp?q=398766

Information

^ Back to Top