Main Page Not logged inLogin

For Questions, Changes or Clarifications regarding the Adjuster Licensing information, please send an email to licensing@theclm.org

Last Reviewed / Modified On 28 Sep 2016.

LOUISIANA ADJUSTER LICENSING INFORMATION

License Types

Claim Adjuster

Issued to a resident and non-resident individual or business entity who investigates or adjusts losses on behalf of an insurer as an independent contractor or as an employee of an adjustment bureau, an association, a property and casualty producer, an independent contractor, an insurer or a managing general agent. Louisiana’s definitions of the types of Adjuster licenses are Auto (Personal and commercial auto); Personal (Dwelling (structure), homeowners (full package), fire; Commercial (Commercial general liability, commercial property, commercial crime, commercial inland marine, boiler and machinery, farm coverage, ocean marine insurance, other policies such as boat owners, aircraft hull, residual markets and business owners policies, fire; Comprehensive (Auto, Personal and Commercial), and Crop.

Public Adjuster

Issued to a resident and non-resident individual or business entity who assists insureds in first-party claims in a manner which avoids the unauthorized practice of law . The definition of public adjusting is to investigate, appraise or evaluate and report to an insured relation to a first-party claim for which coverage is provided by an insurance contract that insures the property of the insured. Public adjusting does not include acting in any manner in relation to claims for damages to or arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle.

Catastrophe or Emergency Claim Adjuster Registration

Issued to a resident and non-resident individual or business entity who assists insureds in first-party claims in a manner which avoids the unauthorized practice of law . The definition of public adjusting is to investigate, appraise or evaluate and report to an insured relation to a first-party claim for which coverage is provided by an insurance contract that insures the property of the insured. Public adjusting does not include acting in any manner in relation to claims for damages to or arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle.

Exclusions

General Exemptions: Life, accident and health claims and clerical duties who do not negotiate with parties on disputed or contested claims.

Licensing Requirements

Requirements

Residents must:
  • Be at least eighteen (18) years old or older as determined from the applicant's date of birth.
  • Applicant must not have another active resident state on PDB.
  • Pass License examination.
  • Be fingerprinted
  • Public adjusters must have an original surety bond on file with LDI before a license can be issued.
    Non-residents must:
  • Be 18 years of age or more.
  • Apply online via NIPR.
  • Pay fee of $55 per application.

Reciprocity and Non Residents

Louisiana grants reciprocal licensing privileges to anyone holding a license from their home state. If your home state does not license adjusters, or if you were not required to pass an exam when obtaining your license, you must pass the Louisiana exam.

Reciprocity with Texas license

Not Reciprocal with TX license.

Pre Licensing Education

Residents
Residents of Louisiana should use one of our Louisiana exam prep packages to study for the Louisiana exam administered by Prometric. Non-residents
Have taken an exam to qualify for their home state's license. If their home state does not require an examination, they must take the Louisiana exam.

Bond Requirement

Requires Adjuster Bond.
Type of Adjuster: Public Adjusters, Individual Claim Adjuster
Amount: $50,000
Bond Expiration information: Yearly

How to Apply

  • Submit your application: Online via Sircon (residents and non-residents who have designated a home state with NIPR)
  • By mail with Form 1546A (non-residents who have not designated a home state with NIPR)
  • Schedule and pass the Louisiana exam, when required: (Must be done by Prometric)
  • Register online via Prometric. The phone number to schedule exams is 800-871-6457.
  • Submit fingerprints (for resident applicants only): Schedule your exam and fingerprinting at the same time.
  • You must pay the exam fee and fingerprinting fee before arriving at the test center.
  • Fingerprints are scanned by Prometric immediately after completion of exam.
  • Allow 10-14 days for fingerprinting results to be returned to Louisiana Department of Insurance.
  • If you are exempt from the Louisiana exam requirement, you may schedule an appointment at a Prometric test center to have your fingerprints scanned.
  • Pay $55 application fee.
  • Accepts Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.

Maintaining Your License

Renewal

The Lousiana Claims Adjuster license is a two-year license which expires on the last day of your birth-month, regardless of the date of issuance. To renew, you must:
File a renewal application (available online at www.ldi.state.la.us or, for non-residents, at nipr.com).
Resident License Renewal
  • Applicants cannot apply earlier than first day of month prior to birth month.
  • Applicants subject to certified education (CE) requirements should verify that their CE hours have been reported to the Department of Insurance prior to submitting their license renewal.
  • Partial renewals are allowed for active lines of authority (LOAs) during the normal renewal cycle.
    Non-Resident License Renewal
  • Applicant cannot apply earlier than first day of the month prior to birth month.
  • Accepts Adjuster Designated Home State (ADHS) electronically.
  • If applicant has been inactive for less than one (1) year, with a status reason of "lapsed", late renewal must be submitted through NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster Renewal (NRAR) Application.
  • If applicant's license has been lapsed for one (1) year or more, or if the license has been inactive for any status reason other than "lapsed", applicant must apply for reinstatement through NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster License (NRAL) Application. It will be processed as a new license.

Continuing Education

Complete 24 Hours of Continuing Education, with three of those hours being in Ethics (Continuing Education required for Louisiana resident adjusters — non-residents need only meet their home-state's CE requirements)

License Termination or Lapse

If applicant has been inactive for less than one (1) year, with a status reason of "lapsed", late renewal must be submitted through NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster Renewal (NRAR) Application.

If applicant's license has been lapsed for one (1) year or more, or if the license has been inactive for any status reason other than "lapsed", applicant must apply for reinstatement through NIPR's Non-Resident Adjuster License (NRAL) Application. It will be processed as a new license. .

Fees

Application$55
Electronic Fingerprinting Fee$72.25
Renewal Fee$50
Reinstatement Fees $150 (This includes a $50 reinstatement fee plus double the $50 renewal fee)

Contact

PO Box 94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
Phone: 225-342-0860
Website: www.ldi.state.la.us

Information

^ Back to Top